The Occupational Therapy Board of New Zealand (OTBNZ) is a health regulatory authority. We ensure the safety of consumers using occupational therapy services. We do this by making sure all occupational therapists meet the specifications of the Health Practitioners Competence Assurance Act 2003.


ePortfolio issue has been resolved – 15th January 2018

The issue affecting the ePortfolio platform has been resolved.

Thank you for your patience.



If you would like to know if an occupational therapist  is registered please search our register

Robert MolyneuxChairperson

Occupational Therapist from Counties Manukau

Erica HodgsonDeputy Chairperson

Occupational Therapist from Auckland

Jane Hopkirk

Occupational Therapist from Wellington

Sally Wenley

Layperson from Auckland

Colleen Naughton

Occupational Therapist at Hawkes Bay District Health Board

Kaye Cheetham

Occupational Therapist from Dunedin

Anne Carter

Layperson from Wellington

Cassandra Hopkins

Occupational Therapist from Hamilton

Rack and Iris PahauRack and Iris Pahau are the Boards Tikanga Advisors, they provide cultural advice to the Board and its staff.

Practitioners can make contact with the advisors through the Boards Professional Advisor, Juanita Murphy, on 04 9184747 or email

The Board is appointed in accordance with the Health Practitioners Competence Assurance Act 2003.
If you would like to contact a Board member please email them at

The main things we’re responsible for are:

  • setting qualifications needed for becoming an occupational therapist
  • setting standards for the clinical competence, cultural competence, and ethical conduct of occupational therapists
  • registering occupational therapists, and recertifying them each year
  • reviewing and ensuring the competence of occupational therapists.

More detail on what we’re responsible for is listed in section 118 of the Health Practitioners Competence Assurance Act 2003.